Canadian Derivatives Exchange*

MX Covered Call Writers' Index (MCWX)

MCWX

(Since December 20, 1993)

MCWX – XIU

(Last 6 months)

Index value – MCWX

July 7, 2014 July 8, 2014 July 9, 2014 July 10, 2014 July 11, 2014
476.459 476.255 476.566 476.429 476.704
Year high (July 4, 2014): 476.863   Year low (February 3, 2014): 445.213

Introduction to covered call writing

A covered call write (or buy write) is the most common option strategy used by individual investors. With this strategy the investor owns the underlying security – be it a stock, a bond or an index – and sells a call option against the position. By selling the call option, the investor is agreeing to deliver the underlying security to the call buyer at a pre-determined price.

Investors who employ covered call writing as a strategy must understand that it reduces downside risk, it does not eliminate it. Many investors still see covered call writing as a neutral to slightly bearish strategy, believing that it best serves the portfolio in a bear market environment. And to some extent that is true.

Covered call writing does outperform a buy and hold strategy in a bear market. However, the strategy involves ownership of an underlying security. In a bear market, the underlying security will decline in value and so too will the value of the covered call writing strategy. It will not decline as far as the buy and hold strategy, but it will move in the same direction.

Similarly, we would expect covered call writing to underperform in a bull market environment. The covered call writer is obligated to deliver the underlying security to the call buyer at a pre-determined price. In a bull market, that obligation acts as a drag on the overall portfolio performance, because it limits the full extent of an upside move.

MX Covered Call Writers' Index

The Montréal Exchange worked with Richard N Croft (President of R N Croft Financial Group Inc. Investment Counselors / Portfolio Managers, www.croftgroup.com) to construct a passive total return index based on selling near-term close-to-the-money calls against a long position in the iShares of the CDN S&P/TSX 60 Fund.

The near-term (i.e. one month) close-to-the-money call options are written each month, on the Monday following expiration, and are held until the following expiration. At expiration the written options are settled for cash, and on the following Monday, a new one-month close-to-the-money call option is written against the underlying iShares of the CDN S&P/TSX 60 Fund.

Each time a new call option is written, it is assumed to be written at the reported bid price, at the close of trading on the Montréal Exchange on the Monday following an expiration. The premium collected from the sale of the call is added to the portfolio's total value. There is no guarantee that investors would be able to sell at the reported bid price on the Montréal Exchange, at the close of trading on the Monday following an expiration. Investors attempting to replicate the MX Covered Call Writers' Index (symbol MCWX) should discuss with their brokers possible timing and liquidity issues.

The MX Covered Call Writers' Index (symbol MCWX) is a benchmark designed to reflect the return on a portfolio that consists of a long position in the stocks in the iShares (symbol XIU) and a short position in the XIU close-to-the-money call options. The historical return series for the MCWX Index begins December 20, 1993 (the Monday following the December 1993 expiration), the first day that the Chicago Board Options Exchange published data for the Volatility Index.

MX Covered Call Writers' Index construction

While we have available data for the S&P/TSX 60 Index – the forerunner for the tradeable iShares – there was no data for the iShares options. In order to re-create the Index back to December 1993, we calculated a theoretical fair value (TFV) for the close-to-the-money options on the S&P/TSX 60 Index using the Black-Scholes option pricing model.

There are six inputs used in the Black-Scholes option pricing model:

Current price of index

iShares (or S&P/TSX 60 Index adjusted) daily prices were provided by the Montréal Exchange.

Strike price

The strike price was assumed to be the option closest to the current price of the underlying security. For periods when the iShares were trading below $25 per share, strike prices were assumed to be at $1.00 intervals. For example, if the iShares were trading at $20 per share, we would assume strike prices of $19, $20 and $21.

For periods when the iShares were trading above $25 per share, we assumed strike prices at $2.50 intervals. If the iShares were trading at $28 per share, we would assume strikes prices at $25, $27.50 and $30.

In cases where slightly in-the-money calls were the closest available strike to the current price of the underlying security, we employed a rigid methodology to determine whether slightly in-the-money or slightly out-of-the-money calls would be written. We did not write calls where the strike price was 2% or more in-the-money.

For example, on March 20, 2000, the iShares closed at $56.625. The available April strikes were $55.00 and $57.50. Because the $55.00 strike price was 2.9% in-the-money, we sold the April 57.50 calls.

The risk free interest rate

For this input, we used the closing daily yield on 30-day Government of Canada Treasury bills.

Dividends

We approximated the dividend yield on the S&P/TSX 60 Index (as well as the iShares), when calculating TFVs for the various option series. The dividend yield was assumed to be 1.6% annually. There was no accounting for the tax implications of dividends versus interest income.

Although the MCWX Index is a total return index, it does not account for dividends that would have been received. Any comparisons between a buy and hold strategy for the iShares and the MCWX Index also excludes dividends.

Volatility

Volatility was the most difficult input to ascertain. One approach was to simply use the historical volatility of the underlying security as our volatility input. However, historically, the experience in both Canada and the US, is that index options trade at implied volatilities that are generally higher than the actual historical volatility of the underlying index.

That trend can be quantified in the US markets by comparing the Volatility Index (symbol VIX) to the actual historical volatility of the S&P 100 Index (symbol OEX). Historical volatility is calculated as the annualized standard deviation of returns for the underlying security over the preceding 30 days (i.e. 20 trading days).

The CBOE Volatility Index, on the other hand, measures the implied volatility based on the actual prices for S&P 100 Index options. The CBOE Volatility Index has data back to December 1993. From December 16, 1993 to October 7, 2002, we counted 2,216 daily observations related to the actual historical volatility for the S&P 100 Index. There were also 2,216 available observations for the VIX. On 2,003 of those observations (90.39% or all observations), the VIX had a higher closing value than the actual historical volatility of the S&P 100 Index. On average, over that observation period, the VIX value was 1.45 times the value of the historical volatility as calculated for the S&P 100 Index.

Further studies showed that from December 1993 to October 2002, the S&P/TSX 60 Index had a positive correlation (0.75 correlation coefficient) with the S&P 100 Index. Suggesting that on average, both underlying indices tended to move in similar directions at the same time. There was however, some variance in the degree of daily moves when comparing the S&P/TSX 60 Index to the S&P 100 Index. Over the observation period, the S&P 100 Index was slightly more volatile on average, that the S&P/TSX 60 Index.

Given those observations, it was decided that the daily volatility input for the MX Covered Call Writers Index would be based on a multiple of the observed VIX implied versus actual historical volatility on the S&P 100 Index.

For example, on July 8, 1996, the annualized 30-day historical volatility on the S&P 100 Index was 15.9% (note on July 8, 1996, the S&P/TSX 60 Index had an implied volatility of 8.1%).

On that particular date, the VIX closed at 20.9%, or 1.3 times the level of the actual historical volatility for the S&P 100 Index. The 1.3 becomes the multiple used to calculate the TFV for the S&P/TSX 60 Index options on that day.

So, coming to full circle, we multiplied the actual 30-day historical volatility for the S&P/TSX 60 Index (i.e. 8.1%) by the 1.3 multiple as ascertained from the implied versus actual volatility for the S&P 100 Index to arrive at an implied volatility assumption for the S&P/TSX 60 Index of 10.6%. We input the 10.6% assumption in the Black-Scholes formula for that day, and utilized the same methodology for all other days until iShares S&P/TSX 60 Index began trading. Once iShares S&P/TSX 60 Index options began trading, we used the actual prices form the Montréal Exchange.

Time to expiration

The time to expiration is calculated as the total number of days between the Monday following a series expiration to the next expiration date. The expiration date for each option series is the Saturday following the third Friday of the expiration month.

When inputting these six factors into the model, the formula provides a TFV. Current daily index calculations are not determined by the model, but are based on the actual daily closing prices for the underlying index and the written option, as settled on the Montréal Exchange.

FAQ

Trade execution

A new iShares covered call write is initiated on the Monday following each Friday expiration. The MX Covered Call Writers' Index is based on a portfolio of 5,000 shares of the iShares. Against that portfolio, we write 50 one-month close-to-the-money calls, covering the entire position. The number of shares was rounded to reflect a beginning portfolio value of $108,290.

The MCWX Index does not account for transaction costs. Investors should recognize that trades in the Index occur every month and transaction costs can have a meaningful impact on the value of the Index.

A series of new indices

In recent years, the Montréal Exchange has received general interest from institutional and individual customers as to the performance attributes associated with various option strategies. The MX has been encouraged to create passive benchmark indices to reflect these performance attributes. The Montréal Exchange believes that the introduction of the MX Covered Call Writers' Index (MCWX) and the MX Covered Straddle Writers' Index (MPCX) could lead to more long-term customer interest in and use of Montréal Exchange listed options.

Price levels of MX indices

Prices for the MX Covered Call Writers' Index (MCWX) and the MX Covered Straddle Writers' Index (MCPX) are available from this website and from quote vendors that provide options data. The price level for both MX Indices was set to 100 on December 20, 1993.

Tradeable, investable alternatives

In October 2002, the Montréal Exchange began disseminating MX Covered Call Writers' Index (MCWX) and MX Covered Straddle Writers' Index (MCPX) prices as a general indication of a hypothetical iShares buy-write strategy. Based on theses indices, other products might be created such as ETFs, futures, hedge funds or mutual funds.

The Montréal Exchange does not provide specific recommendations for mutual funds, but investors interested in these strategies might research the returns and risks of mutual funds that engage in option writing strategies for a portion of their investment portfolios.

Historical performance

The added income from the covered calls in an option writing strategy has historically provided a cushion in times of flat to declining markets. When the underlying market is rising rapidly, option writing strategies generally underperformed a buy and hold approach for the iShares.

Volatility issues

The most attractive feature in an option writing strategy is the marked reduction in the volatility of the overall portfolio. The daily standard deviation for all observations in the MX Covered Call Writers' Index was 0.83%, for the MX Covered Straddle Writers' Index it was 0.81% versus 1.15% for a buy and hold strategy using the iShares.

Covered call writing strategy

For example, assume a position where the investor holds 100 shares of XYZ at $50 per share. The investor sells the XYZ six-month 50 call for a net premium of $5 per share ($500 per contract). In this example, the covered writer has agreed to sell the 100 shares to the call buyer at $50 per share until the option expires. For agreeing to this, the call buyer will pay $5 per share in premium. The premium is retained by the covered writer no matter where the stock ends up in six months.

Because the covered writer owns the underlying shares in this strategy, he should be mildly bullish, or at the very least, neutral on the prospects for the underlying stock. In the example cited, one of three outcomes will occur until expiration. The stock can rise above $50 per share. In that event, the call will be exercised, the call buyer will pay $50 per share, and the covered writer will deliver the 100 shares of XYZ.

The stock can remain unchanged for the life of the option. In this unlikely event, the option will expire worthless. The covered writer is no longer under an obligation to sell shares at $50. The covered call writer still owns the 100 shares of XYZ, and the $5 premium received when the option was sold, is retained by the covered writer. The stock can decline below $50 per share between the time the call was sold and the expiration date. In this case, the covered writer is better off than the investor who never sold the call. Why? Because the initial $5 per share premium received can be applied against the initial purchase price of the stock. The premium reduces the cost of XYZ by $5 per share.

The covered call establishes a set of parameters. In the XYZ example, the writer has limited upside potential to the strike price of the option, plus the $5 premium ($50 + $5 = $55). At the same time, he has reduced the cost base of the stock by the premium received. In this case, the net cost to buy XYZ stock was reduced from $50 to $45. That latter point is critical. Covered call writing does not eliminate downside risk; it only offsets some of the decline.

Keeping with the profit and loss theme, Table 1 examines the profit and loss potential from the XYZ covered call write at different price levels. Prices quoted are assumed to be on last trading day for XYZ options.

Table 1
XYZ stock price Total cost stock – Call Stock value at expiry Call value at expiry Profit (Loss)
30.00 4,500.00 3,000.00 -- -1,500.00
35.00 4,500.00 3,500.00 -- -1,000.00
40.00 4,500.00 4,000.00 -- -500.00
45.00 4,500.00 4,500.00 -- 0.00
50.00 4,500.00 5,000.00 -- 500.00
55.00 4,500.00 5,500.00 -500.00 500.00
60.00 4,500.00 6,000.00 -1,000.00 500.00
65.00 4,500.00 6,500.00 -1,500.00 500.00
70.00 4,500.00 7,000.00 -2,000.00 500.00

Figure 1 characterizes the covered call write in graphic form. Note how the profit/loss line truncates from left to right above the breakeven axis. Further note how the call reduces the risk of holding the shares. As the price of the stock declines so too does the value of the total portfolio (stock plus call). However, at each price point, the covered writer has a smaller loss than the investor who holds the stock but did not sell a call option against the position. That is depicted in the chart in that losses occur to the left of where they would with the long stock position.

Historical data

The daily closing price of the MCWX Index is calculated and disseminated by R N Croft Financial Group Inc. Changes in the value of the Index are based on daily changes reflected in the closing prices for the iShares and the written series of call options. Prices for MCWX are updated on the Montréal Exchange website weekly.

Bourse canadienne de produits dérivés*

Indice MX des ventes d'options d'achat couvertes (MCWX)

MCWX

Depuis le 20 décembre 1993

MCWX – XIU

(6 derniers mois)

Valeur de l'indice – MCWX

28 novembre 2016 29 novembre 2016 30 novembre 2016 1 décembre 2016 2 décembre 2016
503,529 503,524 505,002 504,197 505,118
Haut de l'année (24 novembre 2016): 505,948   Bas de l'année (20 janvier 2016): 438,628

Introduction à la vente d'options d'achat couvertes

La vente d'options d'achat couvertes est la stratégie sur options la plus courante auprès des investisseurs particuliers. À l'aide de cette stratégie, le détenteur d'un titre vend des options d'achat pour une quantité équivalente à sa position sur le titre. En contrepartie des options, le signataire s'engage à livrer (vendre) l'instrument sous-jacent au détenteur de l'option d'achat à un prix stipulé à l'avance.

Les investisseurs qui opèrent une vente d'options d'achat couvertes doivent comprendre que cette stratégie réduit le risque de perte, mais qu'elle ne l'élimine pas. Plusieurs investisseurs voient toujours cette stratégie neutre jusqu'à légèrement baissière. Ils croient donc qu'elle convient mieux à leur portefeuille dans un contexte de marché baissier, ce qui est vrai jusqu'à un certain point.

Dans un marché baissier, la vente d'options d'achat couvertes surclasse la stratégie d'investissement du simple achat du sous-jacent. Toutefois, la stratégie de vente d'options d'achat couvertes implique aussi la possession de l'instrument sous-jacent. Dans un marché baissier, la valeur sous-jacente perdra en valeur tout comme la stratégie de vente d'options d'achat couvertes. Toutefois, elle ne baissera pas autant que la stratégie d'investissement à long terme, mais elle diminuera dans les mêmes proportions.

De même, on constate que la vente d'options d'achat couvertes performe moins dans un contexte de marché haussier. Le signataire de l'option d'achat couverte est obligé de livrer la valeur sous-jacente à l'acheteur de l'option d'achat, et ce, au prix déterminé à l'avance par la vente de l'option. Dans un marché haussier, cette obligation de vente freine le rendement total du portefeuille vu qu'elle limite l'amplitude du mouvement à la hausse.

Indice MX des ventes d'options d'achat couvertes

La Bourse de Montréal a travaillé en collaboration avec Richard N. Croft (président de R N Croft Financial Group Inc. – conseillers en investissement et gestionnaires de portefeuille – www.croftgroup.com) pour bâtir un indice de rendement total fondé sur la vente d'options d'achat à court terme presque à parité contre une position longue sur les parts iShares du CDN S&P/TSX 60 Fund.

Des options d'achat à court terme (p. ex. un mois) presque à parité sont vendues tous les mois, le lundi suivant l'échéance de l'option, et elles sont conservées jusqu'à l'échéance. À l'échéance, elles font l'objet d'un règlement en numéraire. Le lundi suivant, une nouvelle série d'options d'achat à un mois presque à parité est vendue en contrepartie des parts iShares du CDN S&P/TSX 60 Fund.

Chaque fois qu'il y a vente d'une nouvelle série d'options d'achat, on présume qu'elle s'est faite aux cours acheteur affichés à la Bourse à la clôture de la séance le lundi suivant l'échéance. La prime reçue à la vente de l'option d'achat vient s'ajouter à la valeur totale du portefeuille. Rien ne garantit toutefois que les investisseurs pourront vendre aux cours acheteur affichés à la Bourse à la clôture de la séance le lundi suivant l'échéance. Les investisseurs qui tentent de reproduire l'Indice devraient discuter avec leurs courtiers du moment d'exécution opportun et des questions de liquidité.

MCWX est un indice de référence conçu pour reproduire le rendement d'un portefeuille qui consiste, d'une part, en une position acheteur sur parts iShares (symbole XIU), et d'autre part, en une position vendeur sur les options d'achat XIU presque à parité . Les séries de rendement historique de l'Indice MCWX commencent au 20 décembre 1993 (soit le lundi suivant l'échéance de décembre 1993).

Construction de l'Indice MX des ventes d'options d'achat couvertes

Même si des données relatives à l'Indice S&P/TSX 60 sont disponibles – indice précurseur des parts iShares négociables – il n'y en a aucune concernant les options sur les parts iShares. Pour recréer l'indice à partir de décembre 1993, nous avons calculé une juste valeur théorique (JVT) des options presque à parité sur l'Indice S&P/TSX 60 à l'aide du modèle d'évaluation d'options de Black et Scholes.

Voici les six variables utilisées dans le modèle d'évaluation d'options de Black et Scholes :

Prix réel de l'indice

Les cours quotidiens des parts iShares (soit l'Indice S&P/TSX 60 ajusté) ont été fournis par la Bourse de Montréal.

Prix de levée

On a supposé que le prix de levée était celui de l'option qui se rapproche le plus du cours du marché du sous-jacent. Pour les périodes où la part iShares se négociait à moins de 25 $ chacune, nous avons présumé des prix de levée à intervalles de 1 $. Ainsi, si une part iShares se négocie à 20 $, les prix de levée présumés sont 19 $, 20 $ et 21 $.

Pour les périodes où la part iShares se négociait à plus de 25 $, les prix de levée présumés ont été fixés à intervalles de 2,50 $. Ainsi, si une part iShares se négocie à 28 $ l'unité, les prix de levée présumés sont 25 $, 27,50 $ et 30 $.

Dans les cas où les options d'achat légèrement en jeu comportaient le prix de levée le plus proche du cours du marché du sous-jacent, nous avons suivi une méthodologie stricte afin de déterminer si des options légèrement en jeu ou légèrement hors jeu avaient été vendues. Nous n'avons pas vendu d'options d'achat lorsque le prix de levée était en jeu de 2 % ou plus.

Par exemple, le 20 mars 2000, la part iShares clôturait 56,625 $. Les prix de levée disponibles pour avril étaient 55 $ et 57,50 $. Comme l'option au prix de levée de 55 $ se révélait être en jeu de 2,9 %, nous avons vendu les options d'achat avril 57,50.

Taux d'intérêt sans risque

Comme taux d'intérêt sans risque, nous avons utilisé le rendement quotidien des bons du Trésor 30 jours du gouvernement du Canada à la clôture du marché.

Dividendes

Nous avons établi un taux de dividende approximatif de l'Indice S&P/TSX 60 (ainsi que des parts iShares) pour calculer la juste valeur théorique des diverses séries d'options. Ce taux de dividende présumé a été 1,6 % par année. L'incidence fiscale d'un revenu sous forme de dividendes par rapport à un revenu d'intérêt n'a pas été prise en compte.

Même si l'Indice MCWX est un indice de rendement total, il ne tient pas compte des dividendes qui auraient pu être reçus. Les dividendes n'ont pas non plus été pris en compte dans les comparaisons entre l'Indice MCWX et une stratégie d'investissement à long terme dans des parts iShares.

Volatilité

La volatilité a été la variable la plus difficile à déterminer. Nous aurions pu simplement utiliser la volatilité historique du sous-jacent, mais l'expérience a démontré, au Canada comme aux États-Unis, que les options sur indice se négociaient à des volatilités implicites généralement plus élevées que la volatilité historique de l'indice.

Il est possible de quantifier cette tendance sur les marchés américains en comparant le Volatility Index (symbole VIX) à la volatilité historique réelle de l'Indice S&P 100 (symbole OEX). La volatilité historique correspond à l'écart type annualisé des taux de rendement du sous-jacent des 30 jours précédents (20 jours ouvrables).

Le Volatility Index du CBOE, par ailleurs, mesure la volatilité implicite fondée sur les cours réels des options sur l'Indice S&P 100. Les données relatives au Volatility Index du CBOE remontent à décembre 1993. Du 16 décembre 1993 au 7 octobre 2002, nous avons fait 2 216 observations quotidiennes liées à la volatilité historique réelle du S&P 100. Il existe aussi 2 216 observations disponibles sur le VIX. Sur 2 003 de ces observations (90,39 % du total), le VIX avait une valeur de clôture plus élevée que la volatilité historique réelle du S&P 100. En moyenne, sur la période d'observation, la valeur du VIX a été égale à 1,45 fois la volatilité historique calculée pour le S&P 100.

D'autres études ont montré qu'entre décembre 1993 et octobre 2002, le coefficient de corrélation entre l'Indice S&P/TSX 60 et le S&P 100 a été positif (0,75), ce qui laisse présumer qu'en moyenne, les deux indices sous-jacents ont eu tendance à se déplacer dans la même direction en même temps. La comparaison entre l'Indice S&P/TSX 60 et le S&P 100 a toutefois fait apparaître des différences dans l'amplitude des variations quotidiennes. Au cours de la période d'observation, l'Indice S&P 100 a été légèrement plus volatil en moyenne que le S&P/TSX 60.

Sur la base de ces observations, il a été décidé que la variable de volatilité quotidienne se fonderait sur un multiple de la volatilité implicite du VIX par rapport à la volatilité historique réelle de l'Indice S&P 100.

Prenons l'exemple suivant : le 8 juillet 1996, le taux de volatilité historique sur 30 jours annualisé a été de 15,9 % pour l'Indice S&P 100 et de 8,1 % pour l'Indice S&P/TSX 60.

Ce jour-là, le VIX a clôturé à 20,9 %, un taux égal à 1,3 fois la volatilité historique réelle du S&P 100. Ce résultat de 1,3 devient le multiple utilisé dans le calcul de la JVT des options sur l'indice S&P/TSX 60 ce jour-là.

Dans cet exemple, nous avons multiplié la volatilité historique à 30 jours réelle de l'Indice S&P/TSX 60 (soit 8,1 %) par le multiple 1,3 pour obtenir une volatilité implicite présumée de 10,6 %. Nous avons introduit le chiffre hypothétique de 10,6 % dans la formule de Black et Scholes pour ce jour précis. Nous avons suivi la même méthodologie pour effectuer tous les calculs historiques quotidiens relatifs à l'Indice MCWX. Les valeurs courantes se fondent sur les cours de clôture à la Bourse de Montréal.

Temps à courir avant l'échéance

Le temps à courir avant l'échéance correspond au nombre total de jours entre le lundi suivant l'échéance d'une série d'options jusqu'à l'échéance de la série d'options suivante. La date d'échéance de chaque série tombe le samedi suivant le troisième vendredi du mois d'échéance.

Si l'on introduit les six variables dans le modèle, on obtient la JVT des options d'achat et des options de vente. Les calculs relatifs à la valeur quotidienne de l'indice ne sont pas déterminés par le modèle mais se fondent sur les cours de clôture quotidiens réels de l'indice sous-jacent et de l'option vendue, tels que réglés à la Bourse de Montréal.

FAQ

Exécution des opérations

Une nouvelle option d'achat couverte iShares est vendue tous les lundis suivant l'échéance du vendredi. L'Indice MX des ventes d'options d'achat couvertes se base sur un portefeuille constitué de 5 000 parts iShares. En contrepartie du portefeuille, nous avons vendu 50 options d'achat à un mois presque à parité couvertes par la totalité des parts détenues. Le nombre de parts a été arrondi pour correspondre à un portefeuille d'une valeur initiale de 108 290 $.

L'Indice MCWX ne tient pas compte des frais d'opérations. Les investisseurs doivent savoir que des opérations sont effectuées tous les mois dans l'indice et que les frais d'opérations peuvent influer de manière importante sur la valeur de l'indice.

Une nouvelle série d'indices

Au cours des dernières années, les particuliers et les investisseurs institutionnels clients de la Bourse se sont montrés intéressés par la performance des diverses stratégies de négociation d'options. Ce constat a encouragé la Bourse à créer des indices de référence visant à refléter le type de performance associé à ces stratégies. La Bourse de Montréal croit que l'introduction de l'Indice MX des ventes d'options d'achat couvertes (MCWX) et de l'Indice MX des ventes straddles couverts (MPCX) pourra susciter chez ses clients un intérêt à plus long terme pour les options inscrites à sa cote et ainsi favoriser une plus grande utilisation de ces options.

Valeur de base des indices MX

On peut obtenir les valeurs des indices MX des ventes d'options d'achat couvertes (MCWX) et MX des ventes straddle (MPCX) sur ce site ou auprès des revendeurs qui fournissent des données sur les options. La valeur de base attribuée aux deux indices MX au 20 décembre 1993 est de 100.

Autres possibilités de placement négociables

En octobre 2002, la Bourse de Montréal commence la diffusion des valeurs des indices MX des ventes d'options d'achat couvertes (MCWX) et MX des ventes straddle (MPCX) pour donner une idée générale de ce que pourrait donner une stratégie hypothétique de vente d'options d'achat couvertes. D'autres produits basés sur ces indices pourraient être créés tels des ETFs, des contrats à terme, des fonds de couverture ou des fonds communs de placement.

La Bourse de Montréal ne fait aucune recommandation particulière sur les fonds communs de placement, mais les investisseurs intéressés par les stratégies sur ces placements pourraient se renseigner sur les rendements et risques associés aux fonds communs de placement qui mettent en ouvre des stratégies de vente sur options sur une partie de leur portefeuille.

Rendement historique

Le revenu additionnel que procurent les options d'achat couvertes dans une stratégie de vente d'options a toujours servi de tampon dans les périodes de marché neutre à baissier. Lorsque le marché sous-jacent connaît une hausse rapide, les stratégies de vente d'options se traduisent généralement par un rendement inférieur à une stratégie d'investissement à long terme dans des parts iShares.

Questions sur la volatilité

Ce qu'il y a de plus intéressant dans une stratégie de vente d'options, c'est qu'elle permet de réduire sensiblement la volatilité globale d'un portefeuille. L'écart type quotidien de toutes les observations relatives à l'Indice MX des ventes d'options d'achat couvertes a été 0,83 %, il a été de 0,81 % pour l'Indice MX des ventes straddles couverts contre 1,15 % pour la stratégie d'investissement à long terme dans des parts iShares.

Stratégie de vente d'options d'achat couvertes

Prenons l'exemple d'investisseur qui détient 100 actions de XYZ à 50 $ chacune. L'investisseur vend une option d'achat XYZ 50 à six mois contre une prime de 5 $ l'action (500 $ par contrat). Ici, le vendeur a consenti à vendre 100 actions au détenteur de l'option d'achat à 50 $ chacune jusqu'à l'échéance de l'option. À l'inverse, le détenteur de l'option d'achat lui a versé une prime de 5 $ par action. Le vendeur conserve la prime quel que soit le cours de l'action dans six mois.

Étant donné que, dans cette stratégie, le vendeur détient les actions sous-jacentes, il doit avoir un point de vue légèrement haussier ou à tout le moins neutre sur l'action sous-jacente.Dans notre exemple, trois scénarios sont possibles jusqu'à l'expiration. Le prix de l'action peut monter au-dessus de 50 $. Dans ce cas, l'option d'achat sera levée, l'acheteur de l'option d'achat paiera 50 $ l'action au vendeur qui lui livrera les 100 actions XYZ.

Le cours de l'action peut rester stable durant la vie de l'option. Dans ce scénario peu probable, l'option arrivera à échéance sans valeur. Le vendeur n'est donc plus dans l'obligation de vendre ses actions à 50 $. Il conserve toujours ses 100 actions et la prime de 5 $ reçue de la vente de l'option.Le cours de l'action peut baisser sous les 50 $ entre le moment de la vente de l'option et la date d'échéance. Dans ce cas, le vendeur est en meilleure position que l'investisseur n'ayant pas vendu d'options d'achat. Pourquoi? Parce que la prime initiale reçue de 5 $ l'action vient réduire le coût initial d'achat des actions. La prime réduit le coût de XYZ de 5 $ par action.

L'option d'achat couverte établit une série de paramètres. Dans notre exemple XYZ, le signataire de l'option a limité son potentiel de gain au prix de levée de l'option, en plus de la prime de 5 $ (50 $ + 5 $ = 55 $). En même temps, il a réduit le coût de base de son achat initial d'action d'un montant égal à la prime reçue. Dans ce cas, le prix net d'achat de l'action XYZ a été réduit de 50 $ à 45 $. Ce dernier point est très important. Les signataires d'options d'achat couvertes n'éliminent pas le risque de perte – ils réduisent une partie de l'effet de la baisse.

À la lumière de ce qui précède, le tableau 1 illustre le potentiel de profit et perte d'une vente d'options d'achat couvertes à différents niveaux de prix. Les prix cotés sont au dernier jour de négociation des options XYZ.

Tableau 1
Prix de l'action XYZ Coût total action et option d'achat Valeur de l'action à échéance Valeur de l'option d'achat à échéance Profit (Perte)
30,00 4 500,00 3 000,00 -- -1 500,00
35,00 4 500,00 3 500,00 -- -1 000,00
40,00 4 500,00 4 000,00 -- -500,00
45,00 4 500,00 4 500,00 -- 0,00
50,00 4 500,00 5 000,00 -- 500,00
55,00 4 500,00 5 500,00 -500,00 500,00
60,00 4 500,00 6 000,00 -1 000,00 500,00
65,00 4 500,00 6 500,00 -1 500,00 500,00
70,00 4 500,00 7 000,00 -2 000,00 500,00

La figure 1 représente graphiquement la vente d'une option d'achat couverte. Notez comment la courbe de profit et perte tronque l'axe du seuil de rentabilité de gauche à droite. De plus, notez comment l'option d'achat réduit le risque de détenir les actions. Comme l'action perd de sa valeur, la valeur totale du portefeuille (actions + options d'achat) baisse aussi. Toutefois, à chaque niveau de prix, le vendeur subit une perte plus petite que l'investisseur qui détient l'action sans avoir vendu d'option d'achat contre sa position. Le graphique ci-dessous illustre ceci par les pertes encourues placées du côté gauche où elles devraient être avec la position vendeur sur actions.

Données historiques

Les cours de clôture quotidiens de l'indice MPCX sont calculés et diffusés par R N Croft Financial Group Inc. La valeur de l'indice fluctue en fonction des variations quotidiennes de cours de clôture des parts iShares et de la série d'options d'achat et de vente vendues. Les valeurs relatives à l'indice MPCX sont mises à jour chaque semaine sur le site Web de la Bourse.