Canadian Derivatives Exchange*

Covered Call Calculator

How it works

The covered call calculator enables conservative investors to find option series that can generate their desired levels of current and potential returns.

The potential total return is the sum of two components: the option premium return and the potential capital gain.

% ?
% ?

The option premium return is obtained by dividing the options premium by the current price of the stock. This result is annualized by multiplying by 365 days and dividing by the number of days until the options' expiry. To be eligible, an option must have a return higher than the one entered in the "Premium return" field.

The potential capital gain is obtained by subtracting the market price of the stock from the option's strike price. The result is then divided by the market price of the stock. Note that this number can be negative.

The data is annualized by multiplying by 365 days and dividing by the number of days until the options' expiry. To be eligible, an option must have a potential gain higher than the one entered in the "Potential capital gain" field.

Note that options with a bid equal or less than 0.20 will not be displayed in the search results. Transaction fees on these options would greatly reduce the total potential return obtained.

Bourse canadienne de produits dérivés*

Calculateur de rendement pour options d'achat couvertes

Fonctionnement

Le calculateur de rendement pour options d'achat couvertes permet d'obtenir les séries d'options d'achat susceptibles de générer le rendement total potentiel visé par un investisseur conservateur.

Le rendement total potentiel est fonction de deux variables : le rendement de la prime d'une option et le pourcentage de gain en capital.

% ?
% ?

Le rendement de la prime d'une option (exprimé en pourcentage) est obtenu à partir de la prime divisée par le cours du marché de l'action. Ce résultat est annualisé en multipliant par 365 jours et en divisant par le nombre de jours jusqu'à l'échéance de l'option. Pour être admissible, une option doit avoir un rendement supérieur à celui qui est stipulé dans le champ Rendement de la prime.

Le pourcentage de gain en capital est obtenu en soustrayant le cours du marché de l'action du prix de levée. Ce résultat est ensuite divisé par le cours du marché de l'action. Il est à noter que cette donnée peut être négative.

Ensuite, cette donnée doit être annualisée en multipliant par 365 et en divisant le nombre de jours jusqu'à l'échéance de l'option. Pour être admissible, une option doit avoir un gain potentiel supérieur à celui qui est stipulé dans le champ Gain en capital potentiel.

Notez que les options dont le cours acheteur est égal ou inférieur à 0,20 $ ne seront pas affichées dans les résultats. Les frais de transaction sur ces options réduiront beaucoup le rendement total potentiel obtenu.