Strategize with OptionsPlay
Weekly Income Strategy Reports
  Feedback

Strips

A strip is the simultaneous purchase or sale of an equally weighted series of BAX futures contracts. They are quoted on an "average net change" basis from the previous day's settlement price. All contracts in the strip are executed at the same time in a single transaction. The three years of quarterly expirations provide market participants with five standardized strips – 1-year strip, 2-year strip, 3-year strip, red strip and green strip.

There are many benefits in the use of standardized strips such as executing multiple futures contracts in a single transaction, rapid trade execution in a fast market, eliminating partial fills and more efficient trading in the back months.

Enhance Strip Facilities:

During the current day's trading session, strips are quoted on a net change basis from the previous day's settlement prices. Specifically, the price quotation will reflect the average of the net price changes of each of the strip's constituent contracts. With the enhanced strip facilities, participants are permitted to assign equal or different net price changes to each individual contract of the strip as long as they average out to the agreed upon net change in price and both counterparties agree to the assigned changes. If individual price changes cannot be agreed upon, the average net change will be added to or subtracted from the previous day's settlement price for each of the strip's constituent contracts.

Example: on April 2, the Green strip is purchased at an average net change of +2. The average net change of +2 indicates the addition of two ticks to the close of the previous day's settlement price.

The actual price changes assigned to each contract could be as follows:

JUN 05
+5
SEP 05
+4
DEC 05
-1
MAR 06
0 (no change to the previous day's settlement price)

Although each contract was assigned a different price change, the average net change on the transaction equals +2.

Bourse canadienne de produits dérivés*

Strips

Un strip est l'achat ou la vente simultané d'une série de contrats à terme BAX. Les trois années d'échéances trimestrielles permettent aux participants du marché de disposer de cinq combinaisons standard de strips – 1re année strip, 2e année strip, 3e année strip, red strip et green strip.

L'utilisation de strips standardisés présente de nombreux avantages : exécution de plusieurs contrats en une seule transaction, exécution rapide de transactions dans un marché désordonné, élimination des exécutions partielles d'ordres et une plus grande efficacité de négociation dans les mois éloignés.

Amélioration des facilités de négociation des strips :

Les strips sont cotés en fonction du changement net par rapport aux prix de règlement du jour précédent. Spécifiquement, le prix coté reflète la moyenne des changements de prix net de chacun des contrats constitutifs du strip. Par l'amélioration des facilités de négociation des strips, les participants ont désormais la possibilité d'allouer des changements de prix égaux ou différents à chacun des contrats constitutifs du strip, tant que leur moyenne correspond au changement net du prix convenu pour le strip. Les deux parties à la transaction doivent s'entendre sur les changements de prix nets alloués à chacun des contrats constitutifs du strip. S'il n'y a pas de consentement mutuel, le changement de prix net de chaque contrat du strip reflétera le changement de prix net convenu pour l'ensemble du strip.

Exemple : le 2 avril, un green strip est acheté selon un changement net moyen de +2 qui indique l'ajout de deux écarts minimums ticks par rapport au prix de règlement du jour précédent.

Les modifications de prix attribuées à chaque contrat pourraient être les suivantes :

JUN 05
+5
SEP 05
+4
DÉC 05
-1
MAR 06
0 (aucun changement par rapport au prix de règlement du jour précédent)

Bien qu'un changement de prix différent ait été alloué à chaque contrat, le changement net moyen sur la transaction est égal à +2.