Canadian Derivatives Exchange*

Exchange for Risk (EFRs)

Description

An EFR is a transaction whereby two parties enter into an agreement in which one party purchases (sells) an over-the-counter derivative instrument and simultaneously sells (buys) a corresponding futures contract and the other party sells (buys) the over-the-counter derivative instrument and simultaneously purchases (sells) the corresponding futures contract.

General reasons for the use of EFRs

  • An EFR transaction provides for quick and efficient execution of a futures transaction. Since the parties to an EFR transaction have to be the same parties to the OTC transaction, the timing and price are agreed upon without moving the market or being affected by intraday market volatility.
  • EFR transactions can facilitate varying size futures transactions at a single price. An EFR can be transacted in any volume that equals the parties' OTC risk exposure at one price. However, all parties to an EFR transaction are subject to MX position limits unless, as bona fide hedgers, they have been granted positions limits exemptions pursuant to Policy C-1 of MX.
  • EFR transactions improve the effectiveness of non-traditional hedging programs. Certain transactions which were previously limited to the OTC market are now able to benefit from reduced market exposure and slippage. Also, OTC positions associated with deferred months may be hedged more effectively.
  • An EFR transaction enhances financial integrity of OTC hedging programs. Since the futures side of an EFR transaction is a futures contract listed on MX, it has the backing of the Canadian Derivatives Clearing Corporation (CDCC) thus reducing credit default risk.

Pricing the risk component of an EFR

  • The risk component of an EFR is priced at such level that is agreed upon by the two parties to the transaction.
  • The futures contract leg of an EFR must be priced at a fair and reasonable level in light of factors such as, but not limited to, the size of the EFR transaction, currently traded prices, bid and ask prices in the same contract at the relevant time, volatility, liquidity of the relevant market, and general market conditions prevailing at the time the EFR transaction is executed.
  • The risk component of an EFR transaction must be the futures contract underlying interest, a by-product of this underlying interest or a similar product that is reasonably correlated to the futures contract being exchanged. Approved participants who are parties to an EFR transaction may be required to demonstrate that the risk component of such an EFR and the futures contract position are sufficiently correlated to make the transaction acceptable to MX. All correlation requirements are described further below.
  • Also, the number of futures contracts exchanged must be approximately equivalent to the quantity or value of the cash market position being exchanged in the context of an EFR. Approved participants that are parties to an EFR transaction may be required to demonstrate such equivalency.

Acceptable EFR transactions

In order to have an EFR transaction accepted by MX, the transaction must satisfy the following conditions.

There must be separate but integrally related futures contracts and risk component for an EFR transaction.

The exchange transaction must be done between two separate accounts that must satisfy at least one of the following criteria:

  • Accounts have different beneficial ownership.
  • Accounts have the same beneficial ownership but are under separate control.
  • Accounts are under a common control but involve separate legal entities which may or may not have the same beneficial ownership.

If the parties to an EFR transaction involve the same legal entity, same beneficial owner or separate legal entities under common control, the approved participant (or the parties themselves) must be able to demonstrate that the EFR transaction is a legitimate arm's length transaction.

The risk component leg of an EFR transaction must provide for a transfer of ownership of the over-the-counter derivative instrument of the EFR and the delivery of this instrument must take place within a reasonable period of time (in accordance with over-the-counter practice).

The relation between the prices of the futures contract and the risk component leg of the EFR transaction and the relevant prices in either market must be established.

If he does not have actual possession of the over-the-counter derivative instrument, in the case of an EFR transaction, before the execution of the transaction, the seller of this over-the-counter derivative instrument must be able to demonstrate his ability to satisfy his delivery obligation.

Permissible over-the-counter derivative instruments for an EFR transaction

As a guideline, the time period used to calculate the correlation coefficient must be based on daily price data for a period of at least six (6) months or, if weekly price data are used, for a period of at least one (1) year.

Please refer to the following list of permissible over-the-counter derivative instruments when effecting an EFR transaction:

  Bond futures Short-term interest rate futures Index futures /
Share futures
Commodity futures
Vanilla interest rate swaps X X    
Equity and index swaps     X  
Commodity swaps or forwards       X
Forward rate agreement (FRAs)   X    
OTC options and options strategies X X X  

The following outlines the characteristics of OTC derivative instruments that would be acceptable for EFR transaction purposes.

Swaps

Interest rate

  • The standard plain vanilla OTC swap is written under the terms of an ISDA® Master Agreement and provides for regular fixed rate payments against regular floating rate payments.
  • All swap payments must be denominated in the currency of a G7 member country.
  • The OTC interest rate swap must be reasonably correlated with an R = 0.90 or greater so that the futures contract is a suitable instrument for hedging the OTC derivative instrument transactions. As a guideline, the time period used to calculate the correlation must be based on daily price data for a period of at least six (6) months or, if weekly price data are used, for a period of at least one (1) year.

Equities and indices

  • The standard plain vanilla OTC swap is written under the terms of an ISDA® Master Agreement and provides for regular fixed rate payments or regular floating rate payments against the positive or negative performance of a basket of securities or a stock index.
  • All swap payments must be denominated in the currency of a G7 member country.
  • The OTC equity or index swap must be reasonably correlated with an R = 0.90 or greater so that the futures contract is a suitable instrument for hedging the OTC derivative instrument transaction. As a guideline, the time period used to calculate the correlation must be based on daily price data for a period of at least six (6) months or, if weekly price data are used, for a period of at least one (1) year.

Swaps or forwards on commodities

  • The OTC commodity swap or forward is written under the terms of an ISDA® Master Agreement.
  • The OTC commodity swap or forward must be reasonably correlated with an R = 0.80 or greater so that the futures contract is a suitable instrument for hedging the OTC derivative instrument transaction. As a guideline, the time period used to calculate the correlation must be based on daily price data for a period of at least six (6) months or, if weekly price data are used, for a period of at least one (1) year.

Forward rate agreements (FRAs)

  • The conventional FRA is written under the terms of an ISDA® Master Agreement.
  • The interest rate is predetermined.
  • The start/end date is agreed.
  • The conventional FRA has a defined interest (repo) rate.

OTC options and OTC option strategies

  • Any individual or combination of OTC equity or stock index option positions can form the risk transaction component of an EFR transaction against any of MX's stock index or single stock futures contracts.
  • Any individual or combination of OTC bond, interest rate swap or FRA options (e.g. caps, floors and collars) can form the risk component of an EFR transaction against any of MX's interest rate futures contracts.

Bonds (as part of the OTC leg) used in an EFR transaction must have the following characteristics:

  • The coupon rate must be fixed.
  • Bonds are defined as bullet maturity issues (a coupon paying bond with no repayment of principal until maturity)
  • Bonds have no embedded optionality or early redemption features.
  • An ISIN code is required.
  • The principal amount is fixed.
  • Bonds are denominated in the currency of a G7 member country.

Stock baskets used in an EFR transaction must have the following characteristics:

  • They must be reasonably correlated to the index underlying the futures contract with an R = 0.90 or greater and the time period used to calculate the correlation must be based on daily price data for a period of at least six (6) months or, if weekly price data is used, for a period of at least one (1) year.
  • They represent at least 50% of the weight of the index underlying the futures contract or include at least 50% of the stocks comprised in the index underlying the futures contract.
  • The have a notional value equivalent to the value of the futures contract component of the EFR transaction.
  • Exchange-traded funds (ETFs) are acceptable provided that they mirror stock index products traded on MX.

Reporting an EFR transaction to MX

To report an EFR transaction, the approved participant for either the seller or the buyer must complete and submit MX's Special Terms Transaction Reporting Form (STTRF). If the approved participant is acting for both the seller and buyer, the STTRF goes directly to the Market Operations Department (MOD) for approval and subsequent input into SAM (the Montréal Automated System). If not, the approved participant for the other party then validates, completes that which concerns them and approves the STTRF, at which point it is transmitted to the MOD.

For an EFR executed before the close of the relevant contract's trading session, the STTRF must be submitted immediately upon the execution of the transaction. For an EFR executed after the close, the STTRF must be submitted no later than 10:00 a.m. (Montreal time) on the next trading day.

If the STTRF is not fully and accurately completed, it will be refused by the MOD and the approved participant who completed it will need to amend and resubmit a correctly completed STTRF. The second approved participant must then validate and approve the revised STTRF, at which point it is once again transmitted to the MOD.

Once the correctly completed STTRF has been received, the MOD will validate the transaction. MX has the discretion to refuse any such transaction, should it deem that the transaction is not in compliance with the requirements of article 6815 of the Rules, or of the related procedures. In case of refusal, the MOD will ensure that the approved participants involved in the EFR transaction are promptly informed of such refusal and of the reasons for it.

Once an EFR has been validated and entered into SAM by the MOD, MX will disseminate the following information on its Web page Transaction Report:

  • Date and time of transaction
  • Product description (code)
  • Contract month(s)
  • Volume of the transaction, in contracts
  • Transaction price

Trade validation and market dissemination by MX of an EFR transaction will not preclude MX from initiating any investigation and, as the case may be, disciplinary procedures in the event that the transaction is subsequently found to have been made other than in accordance with the requirements of article 6815 of the Rules, or of the related procedures.

Audit trail requirements EFR transactions

Approved participants who enter into an EFR transaction must maintain all documents relevant to the futures contracts as well as to the corresponding over-the-counter derivative instrument transactions and must be able to promptly provide copies of such documents to the Regulatory Division of MX upon request. Documents that may be requested include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Futures contracts' order tickets;
  • Futures contracts' account statements;
  • Documentation customarily generated in accordance with the over-the-counter or other relevant market practices such as cash account statements, trade confirmation statements, ISDA® Master Agreements or other documents of title.
  • Third party documentation to support proof of payment or allowing to verify that the ownership title of the related over-the-counter derivative instrument position was transferred from the seller to the buyer. This may include, but is not limited to cancel checks, bank statements; cash account statements and cash instruments clearing corporation documents (e.g.: CDS Depository and Clearing Services Inc.).

All futures contracts order tickets must clearly indicate the time of execution of the EFR transactions.

For more EFR information, please contact our Market Monitoring Department at 1-888-693-6366.

Bourse canadienne de produits dérivés*

Échange d'instruments dérivés hors bourse pour contrats (EFR)

Notez que les marchés de la Bourse sont fermés en ce 22 mai 2017.

Description

Un échange d'instruments dérivés hors bourse pour contrats (EFR) est une opération où deux parties conviennent que l'une des parties achète (vend) un instrument dérivé hors bourse et vend (achète) simultanément le contrat à terme correspondant alors que l'autre partie vend (achète) l'instrument dérivé hors bourse et achète (vend) simultanément le contrat à terme correspondant.

Explications générales à l'utilisation d'EFR

  • Une opération EFR permet l'exécution rapide et efficiente d'une transaction sur contrats à terme. Comme les deux parties dans une opération EFR sont les mêmes parties dans la transaction hors bourse, le moment et le prix de l'opération sont convenus sans perturber le marché et sans être affectés par la volatilité intra journalière.
  • Les opérations EFR peuvent faciliter les transactions sur contrats à terme de différentes tailles à un seul prix. Un EFR peut être négocié pour un volume qui équivaut à l'exposition des parties au marché hors bourse. Toutefois, les parties dans une opération EFR sont sujettes aux limites de position de la Bourse à moins qu'ils bénéficient, à titre de contrepartistes de bonne foi (bona fide hedgers), de dispenses de limites de positions accordées en vertu de la Politique C-1 de la Bourse.
  • Les opérations EFR améliorent l'efficacité des programmes de couverture non traditionnels. Certaines transactions qui, auparavant, se limitaient au marché hors bourse pourront maintenant profiter d'une réduction de l'exposition au marché et du décalage. Les positions hors bourse associées à des mois différés pourront aussi être mieux protégées.
  • Une opération EFR rehausse l'intégrité financière des programmes de couverture hors bourse. Comme le côté à terme d'une opération EFR est un contrat à terme inscrit à la Bourse, il est soutenu par la Corporation canadienne de compensation de produits dérivés (la CDCC) ce qui réduit le risque de crédit.

Établissement du prix de la composante risque d'un EFR

  • La composante risque d'un EFR est évaluée à un prix convenu entre les deux parties à cet échange.
  • La patte contrat à terme d'un EFR doit être évaluée à un niveau de prix juste et raisonnable eu égard, sans s'y limiter, à des facteurs tels que la taille de l'EFR, les prix négociés et les cours acheteur et vendeur du même contrat au moment de l'opération, la volatilité et la liquidité du marché concerné et les conditions générales du marché au moment où l'opération EFR est exécutée.
  • La composante risque d'un EFR doit être la valeur sous-jacente au contrat à terme, un sous-produit de cette valeur sous-jacente ou un produit similaire dont la corrélation avec le contrat à terme échangé est raisonnable. Les participants agréés impliqués dans une opération EFR peuvent être appelés à démontrer que la composante risque d'un tel EFR et la position en contrats à terme qui s'y rattache sont suffisamment corrélées pour que l'opération soit acceptable pour la Bourse. Tous les prérequis de corrélation sont énoncés plus loin ci-dessous.
  • De plus, le nombre de contrats à terme échangés doit être approximativement équivalent à la quantité ou à la valeur de la composante risque faisant l'objet d'un EFR. Les participants agréés impliqués dans une opération EFR peuvent être appelés à démontrer cette équivalence.

Opérations EFR acceptables

Un EFR doit satisfaire les conditions suivantes afin d'être accepté par la Bourse.

La composante risque d'une opération EFR et l'opération à terme doivent être distinctes, mais être intégralement liées.

L'opération des instruments en bourse doit être effectuée entre deux comptes distincts satisfaisant au moins un des critères suivants :

  • Les comptes ont des propriétaires réels différents.
  • Les comptes ont le même propriétaire réel, mais sont sous contrôle distinct.
  • Les comptes sont sous contrôle commun, mais concernent des personnes morales distinctes pouvant ou non avoir le même propriétaire réel.

Si les parties à une opération EFR impliquent la même personne morale, le même propriétaire réel ou des personnes morales distinctes sous contrôle commun, le participant agréé (ou les parties elles-mêmes) doit être en mesure de démontrer que l'opération EFR est effectuée aux mêmes conditions que s'il n'existait aucun lien de dépendance entre les parties.

La patte de la composante risque d'une opération EFR doit prévoir le transfert de propriété de l'instrument dérivé hors bourse d'une opération EFR et la livraison de cet instrument doit être effectuée dans un délai raisonnable (selon les normes du marché hors bourse).

La relation entre les prix du contrat à terme et de la patte de la composante risque d'une opération EFR et les prix correspondants dans chaque marché doit être établie.

S'il n'est pas en possession réelle de l'instrument dérivé hors bourse avant l'exécution d'une opération EFR, le vendeur de cet instrument dérivé hors bourse doit être en mesure de démontrer sa capacité de s'acquitter de son obligation de livraison.

Instruments dérivés hors bourse admissibles aux fins d'une opération EFR

À titre d'indication, le calcul de la corrélation doit s'effectuer à partir de données quotidiennes couvrant une période d'au moins six (6) mois ou, si des données hebdomadaires sont utilisées, à partir de données couvrant une période d'au moins une (1) année.

Le tableau ci-dessous fournit une liste des instruments dérivés hors bourse qui sont admissibles aux fins d'une opération EFR :

  C.-à-t. sur obligations C.-à-t. sur taux d'intérêt à court terme C.-à-t. sur indices et sur actions individuelles C.-à-t. sur marchandises
Swaps sur taux d'intérêt classiques X X    
Swaps sur actions et indices     X  
Swaps ou forwards sur marchandises       X
Contrats de garantie de taux d'intérêt (FRAs)   X    
Contrats d'options et stratégies sur options du marché hors bourse X X X  

Vous trouverez ci-dessous les caractéristiques des instruments dérivés du marché hors bourse admissibles aux fins d'opérations EFR.

Swaps

Taux d'intérêt

  • Le swap classique du marché hors bourse est régi par une entente ISDA (ISDA® Master Agreement) et prévoit des paiements réguliers à un taux fixe contre des paiements réguliers à un taux variable.
  • Tous les paiements effectués en vertu d'un swap doivent être libellés dans une devise d'un pays membre du G7.
  • Le swap hors bourse de taux d'intérêt doit être raisonnablement corrélé avec un R = 0,90 ou plus, de sorte que le contrat à terme soit un instrument de couverture adéquat pour les opérations d'instruments dérivés sur le marché hors bourse. À titre d'indication, le calcul de la corrélation doit s'effectuer à partir de données quotidiennes couvrant une période d'au moins six (6) mois ou, si des données hebdomadaires sont utilisées, à partir de données couvrant une période d'au moins une (1) année.

Actions et indices

  • Un swap classique du marché hors bourse régi par une entente ISDA (ISDA® Master Agreement) qui prévoit des paiements réguliers à un taux fixe ou à un taux variable contre le rendement positif ou négatif d'un panier de titres ou d'un indice boursier.
  • Tous les paiements d'un swap doivent être libellés dans une devise d'un pays membre du G7.
  • Le swap hors bourse d'action ou d'indice doit être raisonnablement corrélé avec un R = 0,90 ou plus, de sorte que le contrat à terme soit un instrument de couverture adéquat pour les opérations d'instruments dérivés sur le marché hors bourse. À titre d'indication, le calcul de la corrélation doit s'effectuer à partir de données quotidiennes couvrant une période d'au moins six (6) mois ou, si des données hebdomadaires sont utilisées, à partir de données couvrant une période d'au moins une (1) année.

Swaps ou forwards sur marchandises

  • Le swap ou forward en bourse sur marchandises est régi par une entente ISDA (ISDA® Master Agreement).
  • Le swap ou forward hors bourse sur marchandise doit être raisonnablement corrélé avec un R = 0,80 ou plus, de sorte que le contrat à terme soit un instrument de couverture adéquat pour les opérations d'instruments dérivés sur le marché hors bourse. À titre d'indication, le calcul de la corrélation doit s'effectuer à partir de données quotidiennes couvrant une période d'au moins six (6) mois ou, si des données hebdomadaires sont utilisées, à partir de données couvrant une période d'au moins une (1) année.

Contrats de garantie de taux d'intérêt (FRAs)

  • Le FRA classique est régi par une entente ISDA (ISDA® Master Agreement).
  • Le taux d'intérêt est prédéterminé.
  • Les dates de début et de fin sont convenues.
  • Le taux d'intérêt (taux repo) doit être défini.

Contrats d'options et stratégies sur options du marché hors bourse

  • Toute position simple ou combinaison de contrats d'options hors bourse sur actions ou sur indices peut représenter la portion à risque d'un échange d'instruments dérivés hors bourse pour tout contrat à terme sur indices ou sur actions individuelles inscrit à la Bourse;
  • Toute position simple ou combinaison de contrat d'options hors bourse sur obligations, swaps de taux d'intérêt ou FRAs peut représenter la portion à risque d'un échange d'instruments dérivés hors bourse pour tout contrat à terme sur taux d'intérêt inscrit à la Bourse.

Les obligations (faisant l'objet de la patte hors bourse) utilisées lors d'un échange d'instruments dérivés hors bourse pour contrats doivent comporter les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Le taux de coupon doit être fixe.
  • Les obligations doivent faire l'objet d'une émission sans amortissement (une obligation à coupons dont le capital n'est remboursé entièrement qu'à l'échéance).
  • Les obligations ne comportent pas d'optionalité intégrée, ni de clause de remboursement anticipé.
  • Un code ISIN est requis.
  • La valeur nominale doit être déterminée.
  • Les obligations sont libellées dans une devise d'un pays membre du G7.

Les paniers de titres utilisés lors d'un échange d'instruments dérivés hors bourse pour contrats doivent comporter les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Ils doivent être raisonnablement corrélés à l'indice sous-jacent au contrat à terme avec un R = 0,90 ou plus, et le calcul de la corrélation doit s'effectuer à partir de données quotidiennes couvrant une période d'au moins six (6) mois ou, si des données hebdomadaires sont utilisées, à partir de données couvrant une période d'au moins une (1) année;
  • Ils doivent représenter au moins 50 % de la pondération de l'indice sous-jacent au contrat à terme ou être composés d'au moins 50 % des titres composant l'indice sous-jacent au contrat à terme;
  • Ils doivent avoir une valeur notionnelle équivalente à la valeur de la patte contrat à terme de l'opération d'échange;
  • Les fonds indiciel négociable en Bourse (FNB) sont des instruments admissibles pour autant qu'ils représentent une image fidèle de l'instrument dérivé sur indice négocié à la Bourse.

Déclaration à la Bourse d'une opération EFR

Pour déclarer une opération d’échange d’instruments dérivés hors bourse pour contrat (« EFR »), le participant agréé qui représente l'acheteur et celui qui représente le vendeur ou le participant agréé qui représente à la fois l'acheteur et le vendeur doivent remplir et soumettre le Formulaire de rapport d'opérations avec termes spéciaux (le « formulaire »). Lorsque l'opération ne concerne qu'un participant agréé représentant à la fois l'acheteur et le vendeur, le formulaire rempli est soumis directement au Service des opérations de marché (« Opérations de marché ») aux fins d'approbation et de saisie dans le Système Automatisé de Montréal (« SAM »). Lorsque l'opération concerne deux participants agréés, l'un représentant l'acheteur et l'autre le vendeur, chacun des participants agréés doit remplir la partie du formulaire qui concerne son client et valider les renseignements qui s'y trouvent. Le formulaire est ensuite soumis aux Opérations de marché aux fins d'approbation et de saisie dans le SAM.

Si l'opération EFR est effectuée avant la clôture de la séance de négociation du contrat à terme visé par l'opération, le formulaire doit être soumis immédiatement après l'exécution de l'opération. Si l'opération est effectuée après la clôture de la séance de négociation, le formulaire doit être soumis au plus tard à 10 h (heure de Montréal) le jour de négociation suivant.

Les Opérations de marché refuseront le formulaire s'il ne contient pas tous les renseignements requis ou s'il contient des erreurs. Le participant agréé ou les participants agréés devront alors soumettre aux Opérations de marché une version corrigée du formulaire qui aura été validée au préalable par les deux participants agréés, le cas échéant.

Les Opérations de marché vérifieront les renseignements dès qu'elles auront reçu le formulaire dûment rempli. La Bourse de Montréal (la « Bourse ») peut refuser l'opération si elle juge que cette dernière n'est pas conforme aux exigences de l'article 6815 des Règles de la Bourse ou des procédures connexes. En cas de refus, les Opérations de marché feront part de ce refus et des raisons qui le justifient au participant agréé ou aux participants agréés, selon le cas, dès que possible.

Dès que les Opérations de marché approuvent l'opération EFR et qu'elle est saisie dans le SAM, la Bourse diffuse les renseignements suivants sur la page Web Rapport d'opérations :

  • Date et heure de l'opération
  • Description du produit (code)
  • Mois d'échéance
  • Volume de l'opération, en contrats
  • Prix de l'opération

La validation et la diffusion sur le marché d'une opération EFR par la Bourse n'empêcheront pas cette dernière d'ouvrir une enquête et, s'il y a lieu, d'entreprendre des procédures disciplinaires si l'opération s'avère par la suite non conforme aux exigences de l'article 6815 des Règles de la Bourse ou des procédures connexes.

Exigences relatives à la piste de vérification pour les opérations EFR

Les participants agréés qui effectuent une opération EFR doivent conserver tous les documents pertinents relativement aux opérations à terme ainsi que sur instruments dérivés hors bourse et, sur demande, doivent être en mesure de fournir rapidement copie de ces documents à la Division de la réglementation de la Bourse. Sans s'y limiter, les documents qui peuvent être demandés comprennent :

  • les billets d'ordre des contrats à terme;
  • les relevés des comptes de contrats à terme;
  • la documentation habituellement produite selon les normes en vigueur sur le marché hors bourse ou autre marché pertinent tel que relevés de compte au comptant, confirmations d'opérations, conventions ISDA® ou tous autres titres de propriété;
  • la documentation provenant d'un tiers corroborant toute preuve de paiement ou permettant de vérifier que le titre de propriété, de la position dans l'instrument dérivé hors bourse, a été transféré à l'acheteur. Ceci inclut, entre autres, les chèques annulés, les relevés de banque, les relevés de compte au comptant et les documents provenant d'une corporation de compensation de titres au comptant (p. ex., Services de dépôt et de compensation CDS inc.).

Tous les billets d'ordre de contrats à terme doivent clairement indiquer l'heure d'exécution des opérations EFR.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les EFRs, veuillez communiquer avec le service des Opérations de marchés au 1 888 693-6366.