Strategize with OptionsPlay
Weekly Income Strategy Reports
  Feedback

Implied Volatility Calculation

The implied volatility represents the volatility of the price yields of the asset underlying the option, calculated using iterations. All other parameters that characterize an option are known: the price of the underlying asset, the strike price, the time to expiry, the risk-free rate (for the considered expiry), the dividend (if any) and the option premium observed on the market.

For investors, the implied volatility is a useful indicator as it corresponds to the volatility anticipated by market participants for the life of the option and reflects in the option premium. Note that the higher the implied volatility, the higher the option premium and vice versa. Thus, an investor could compare the implied volatility with the historical volatility of the underlying asset and make his own opinion of the upcoming volatility in order to help him implement an options strategy that he finds optimal.

For simplification purposes, the calculation by iterations is based on the Black & Scholes model and on the Newton-Raphson algorithm. The Black & Scholes model presents many limitations, the most important being that it evaluates European-style options only. We have applied this model to American-style options, which premiums are often higher than the premiums of European options. The implied volatility calculated for American options – the majority of listed options on the Montréal Exchange – will then be distorted. The volatility calculated generally overstates the implied volatility. Thus, if the volatility calculated is of 20%, the implied volatility of the option will be at the most 20%.

The implied volatility can also be obtained from the Implied Volatility Calculator integrated in the Options Calculator available in the Trading Tools section.

Disclaimer: Implied volatility figures are supplied for information only and represent an approximation of the real implied volatility. These values are provided by way of illustration and mustnot be used under any circumstances as a base to implement any option strategies nor to invest in options and shares underlying the options.

Bourse canadienne de produits dérivés*

Calcul de la volatilité implicite

La volatilité implicite représente la volatilité des rendements du prix de l'actif sous option, calculée par itérations. Tous les autres paramètres qui caractérisent l'option sont connus : le prix de l'actif sous-jacent, le prix d'exercice, le temps à courir jusqu'à l'échéance, le taux d'intérêt sans risque (pour l'échéance considérée), le dividende (s'il y a lieu) et la prime de l'option observée sur le marché.

La volatilité implicite est un indicateur utile pour l'investisseur puisqu'elle correspond à la volatilité anticipée par les participants du marché pour la durée de vie de l'option et transparaît dans la prime de l'option. Notez que plus la volatilité implicite est élevée, plus la prime de l'option est élevée et vice versa. L'investisseur peut ainsi comparer la volatilité implicite à la volatilité historique de l'actif sous-jacent, et se forger sa propre opinion de la volatilité à venir pour l'aider à implanter la stratégie sur options qu'il juge optimale.

Pour fins de simplification, le calcul par itérations se base sur le modèle de Black & Scholes et sur l'algorithme de Newton-Raphson. Le modèle de Black & Scholes présente plusieurs limitations, la principale étant qu'il évalue seulement des options européennes. Nous avons appliqué ce modèle à des options américaines dont les primes sont souvent supérieures aux primes d'options européennes. La volatilité implicite calculée pour les options américaines – l'essentiel des options de la Bourse de Montréal – sera donc biaisée. La volatilité calculée surestime généralement la volatilité implicite. Ainsi, si la volatilité calculée est de 20 %, la volatilité implicite de l'option sera d'au plus 20 %.

La volatilité implicite peut aussi être obtenue à partir du Calculateur de volatilité implicite intégré au Calculateur d'options disponible dans les outils de négociation en ligne.

Mise en garde : Les valeurs de la volatilité implicite sont fournies sur une base indicative seulement et ne représentent qu'une approximation de la véritable volatilité implicite. Ces valeurs sont fournies à titre d'illustration et ne doivent en aucun cas être utilisées comme fondement pour implanter des stratégies sur option ni investir dans les options et les titres sous-jacents aux options.