CORRA Futures

As part of the global efforts put forward by many jurisdictions to promote the development and adoption of alternative reference rates (including in Canada), Bourse de Montréal Inc. is currently working with the industry on a new Canadian Overnight Repo Rate Average ("CORRA") futures offering.

Context

In March 2018, Canada established the Canadian Alternative Reference Rate ("CARR") Working Group to identify and seek to develop a Canadian dollar term risk-free rate benchmark that is robust, reliable, and resilient to any market stress, as well as consistent with the IOSCO Principles for Financial Benchmarks and compliant with any applicable regulations. The term risk-free rate would act as a complementary reference rate for the Canadian market and would operate alongside the Canadian Dollar Offered Rate (CDOR).

The CARR is composed of the following subgroups:

  • Alternative rates – Seek to identify and evaluate options for an alternative Canadian risk-free or nearly-risk free overnight reference rate. This subgroup recommended an enhanced CORRA as the preferred Canadian risk-free rate. A consultation on the proposed enhancements ended on April 30, 2019. A final recommendation is expected to be published in the coming months.
     
  • Fallback language – Develop robust fallback language for non-derivatives products or contracts (i.e. floating rate notes, securitizations, hybrid capital notes and bank loans)
     
  • Transition subgroup – Provide the underlying framework to transition toward the widespread use of CORRA as a reference rate in Canadian dollar financial products
     
  • Term risk-free rate subgroup – Assess the need for a Canadian term risk-free rate benchmark. If required, develop the methodology and specifications for the term rate

The Montréal Exchange ("MX") is involved in the Canadian Alternative Reference Rate ("CARR") working group as an observer, as well as in the Transition subgroup where it chairs the Futures Market workstream, which aims to develop a robust Canadian benchmark interest rate futures contract based on CORRA. A consultation on the product design and supporting strategy is currently going on between the MX and different key stakeholders. More information will be posted as the project evolves.

Product update

Client Presentation: Overview of the North American interest rate benchmark transition and its impacts on the financial industry, including a focus on the Canadian context and upcoming launch of CORRA Futures.

Product specifications: The Bourse will initially focus on the development of the 3M CORRA Futures, but is also building the infrastructure to quickly support the 1M CORRA Futures if there is sufficient market demand.

Detailed Analysis: Excerpt of the document that was approved by the Rules and Policies Committee of the Bourse regarding the CORRA Futures initiative. This document contains information on:

  • Background and context
  • Description and objectives
  • Comparative analysis (benchmarking)
  • Impact analysis

Final settlement price: Final settlement price is based on the realized CORRA value during the reference period. Detailed calculation examples are provided here.

Élaborez vos stratégies avec OptionsPlay
Rapports hebdomadaires sur les stratégies de génération de revenu!
  Commentaires

Contrat à terme sur le taux CORRA

Dans la foulée du travail effectué à l’échelle mondiale dans de nombreux territoires, y compris au Canada, afin de promouvoir l’établissement et l’adoption de taux de référence complémentaires, Bourse de Montréal Inc. (la « Bourse ») collabore actuellement avec le secteur pour offrir un nouveau contrat à terme sur le taux des opérations de pension à un jour (taux CORRA, Canadian Overnight Repo Rate Average).

Contexte

En mars 2018, le Canada a mis sur pied le groupe de travail sur le taux de référence complémentaire pour le marché canadien (« TARCOM ») pour définir et élaborer un taux de référence sans risque à terme pour les opérations en dollars canadiens qui serait à la fois robuste, fiable et insensible aux tensions de tous ordres survenant sur les marchés, et aussi conforme aux principes de l’OICV régissant les indices financiers de référence ainsi qu’à toutes les réglementations applicables. Ce taux sans risque à terme constituerait un taux de référence complémentaire pour le marché canadien et serait utilisé parallèlement au taux CDOR (Canadian Dollar Offered Rate).

Le TARCOM se compose des sous-groupes suivants :

  • Sous-groupe responsable des taux complémentaires – Vise à déterminer et à évaluer les solutions de rechange en matière de taux de référence à un jour sans risque ou à risque quasi nul au Canada. Ce sous-groupe a recommandé un taux CORRA amélioré comme taux sans risque à privilégier au Canada. La consultation portant sur les améliorations proposées a pris fin le 30 avril 2019. Une recommandation définitive devrait être publiée au cours des prochains mois
     
  • Sous-groupe chargé de l’élaboration de libellés types – Rédige des libellés types robustes concernant les solutions de rechange pour les instruments ou contrats ne portant pas sur les dérivés (c.-à-d. les obligations à taux variables, les titrisations, les titres de participation hybrides – hybrid capital notes – et les prêts bancaires)
     
  • Sous-groupe chargé de la transition – Fournit le cadre sous-jacent en vue de l’adoption à grande échelle d’un taux CORRA comme taux de référence des instruments financiers libellés en dollars canadiens
     
  • Sous-groupe chargé du taux à terme sans risque – Évalue l’utilité d’un taux sans risque à terme au Canada et, au besoin, élabore la méthode de fixation et les caractéristiques de ce taux

Le point sur le produit (contrat à terme)

La Bourse de Montréal (« MX ») participe au TARCOM à titre d’observateur, ainsi qu’au sous-groupe chargé de la transition, où elle préside le chantier des marchés à terme, destiné à l’élaboration d’un contrat à terme sur taux d’intérêt de référence robuste au Canada fondé sur le taux CORRA. Un dialogue portant sur la conception du produit et la stratégie qui le soutiendra est en cours entre la MX et différentes parties prenantes clés. D’autres renseignements seront publiés au fil de l’évolution du projet.