Canadian Derivatives Exchange*

Rule Modernization Project

In 2014, Bourse de Montréal Inc. (the "Bourse") undertook a project (the "Rule Modernization Project") to update, modernize and reorganize its rules applicable to its activities and to market participants (the "Rules"). The primary objective of the Rule Modernization Project was to provide Rules that are clear, updated, organized in a logical fashion and that accurately reflect the current trading environment.

As part of the Rule Modernization Project, the Bourse examined a number of substantive articles in need of updating. During this stage of the project, the Bourse proposed amendments to many articles.

Following these substantive amendments, the last phase of the Rule Modernization Project is to reorganize the structure of the Rules, and to update and harmonize the language of the Rules. Except for the few minor substantive changes described in the analysis attached below, the proposed changes all pertain to form and conforming terms. None of the changes are intended to modify the substantive meaning or application of the Rules as currently in effect. The Bourse is requesting comments concerning the substantive rule amendments as well as the form and conforming amendments presented in this circular and described in the attached analysis.

Self-certification

Reorganization of the Rules structure, certain conforming substantive amendments and various non-substantive editorial amendments

On November 3, 2016 and November 8, 2018, the Rules and Policies Committee of Bourse de Montréal Inc. (the “Bourse”) approved amendments as part of the Rule Modernization Project. Those amendments to the Rules of the Bourse aim to establish a new Rules’ structure, update the terminology to ensure consistency throughout the Rules, and update cross-references to align with the new numbering convention and abrogate articles that are no longer relevant or redundant. These amendments were self-certified in accordance with the self certification process as established in the Derivatives Act (CQLR, Chapter I-14.01).

The reorganized Rulebook will become effective on January 1st, 2019 and is available on the Bourse’s website.

The amendments described in the present circular were published for public comment by the Bourse on June 15, 2018 (see Circular 104-18 ). Further to the publication of this circular, no comment was received by the Bourse.

For additional information, please contact Martin Jannelle, Legal Counsel, at 514-787-6578 or by email at: martin.jannelle@tmx.com.

Appendices

You will find below the following documents:

Process for Changes to the Rules

The Bourse is authorized to carry on business as an exchange and is recognized as a self-regulatory organization by the Autorité. The Board of Directors of the Bourse has delegated to the Rules and Policies Committee of the Bourse its powers to approve and amend the Rules, the Policies and the Procedures, which are thereafter submitted to the Autorité in accordance with the self-certification process as determined by the Derivatives Act (CQLR, chapter I-14.01).

Bourse canadienne de produits dérivés*

Projet de Modernisation des Règles

En 2014, Bourse de Montréal Inc. (la « Bourse ») a entrepris un projet (le « Projet de Modernisation des Règles ») afin de mettre à jour, moderniser et réorganiser les règles applicables à ses activités et aux participants au marché (les « Règles »). L'objectif principal du Projet de Modernisation des Règles était de modifier les Règles afin qu'elles soient claires, à jour, organisées de manière logique et reflètent l'environnement de négociation actuel.

Dans le cadre du Projet de Modernisation des Règles, la substance de plusieurs articles a été revue afin de les actualiser. Durant cette étape du projet, la Bourse a proposé des modifications à plusieurs articles.

Suite à ces révisions de fond, la dernière étape du Projet de Modernisation des Règles consiste à réorganiser la structure des Règles, et à actualiser et harmoniser le libellé des Règles. Sauf pour les quelques changements de fond mineurs décrits dans l'analyse jointe ci-dessous, tous les changements sont de forme ou visent à uniformiser la terminologie. Aucune des modifications proposées ne vise à modifier la signification ou l'effet des Règles actuellement en vigueur.

Autocertification

Réorganisation de la structure des règles, modifications de fond et révisions mineures

Le 3 novembre 2016 et le 8 novembre 2018, le Comité des règles et politiques de Bourse de Montréal Inc. (la « Bourse ») a approuvé des modifications dans le cadre du Projet de Modernisation des Règles. Ces modifications des règles de la Bourse visent la structure des règles, ainsi que leur terminologie afin d’en assurer l’uniformité. La Bourse a de plus procédé à la mise à jour des renvois internes pour assurer la concordance à la nouvelle convention de numérotation et abroger les articles désuets ou redondants. Ces modifications ont été autocertifiées conformément au processus d’autocertification prévu par la Loi sur les instruments dérivés (RLRQ, chapitre I-14.01)..

Le livre des règles réorganisé entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019 et est disponible sur le site web de la Bourse.

Les modifications visées par la présente circulaire ont fait l’objet d’une sollicitation de commentaires publiée par la Bourse le 15 juin 2018 (voir Circulaire 104-18). Suite à la publication de cette circulaire, aucun commentaire n’a été reçu par la Bourse.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Martin Jannelle, Conseiller juridique, au 514-787-6578 ou à martin.jannelle@tmx.com.

Annexes

Vous trouverez ci-après les documents suivants :

Processus d'établissement de règles

La Bourse est autorisée à exercer l'activité de bourse et est reconnue à titre d'organisme d'autoréglementation par l'Autorité. Le conseil d'administration de la Bourse a délégué au Comité des règles et politiques l'approbation des règles, des politiques et des procédures, lesquelles sont par la suite soumises à l'Autorité conformément au processus d'autocertification, tel que prévu par la Loi sur les instruments dérivés (RLRQ, chapitre I-14.01).